Sign in

Tags

Calendar

<<  August 2010  >>
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
2627282930311
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
303112345

Blogroll



    This morning our spam filters and those of some of our clients were clogged with a number of bogus emails purporting to be from Google AdWords. Bearing the subject line "Please Re-activate your account," they resemble some actual billing-info alerts from Google, but they are pure phishing scams -- sent to random email addresses and meant to get receivers to cough up their credit card info.

    The sender email address and the links are spoofed to make them appear to be Google addresses. When you "view source" you'll see the links actually point to a "Adwords.Google.com" subdomain on the Chinese domain hki045.cn, or other non-Google domain. If you receive similar messages, IGNORE AND DELETE THEM! DO NOT CLICK THROUGH.

    The copy of one of the emails we received is as follows:

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Dear Google Adwords Customer,

    Your ads have stopped running because we were unable to process your billing information.
    To activate your account and start running your ads, enter your billing information.

    In order to activate your account and start running your ads, enter your billing information.
    Pease sign into your account at http://adwords.google.com/select/login, and update
    your billing information.

    Once your account is reactivated and your billing information has been processed,
    any your ads and campaigns can begin running immediately on Google.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    This message was sent from a notification-only email address that does
    not accept incoming email. Please do not reply to this message.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Google Adwords Team


    Comments